The Comfort Zone

So…

I’m going to be completely transparent in saying that I struggle with the “comfort zone.”

Majority of the time, I create negative situations or situations that stunt my personal growth, simply because I enjoy the comfort of my past and what I’ve already grown accustomed to.

Truthfully, I just don’t enjoy starting over. I’d rather put my blood, sweat and tears into making something from the past work than to let go and achieve and obtain bigger and better things.

It sounds crazy, I know.

I wouldn’t say I’m afraid of letting go, because that’s not the case. It’s more like I just hate feeling like I’m giving up on something. Even when what I’m fighting for has already been deemed a lost cause. It’s just my personality, I guess.

Or…

Maybe it’s something deeper like the “what if” aspect of the situation. You know, maybe if I keep just one string attached that maybe, just maybe the others will reattach and everything will be amazing again.

Obviously that’s not how things work.

Sometimes holding onto something or someone causes more strain and more heartache than it does to just let go and walk away.

Some life lessons I’m very well aware of and still make choices that are the complete opposite.

It’s all a part of growing I guess, and when I grow beyond that phase of my life, hopefully I’ll grow out of the idea of having a comfort zone as well.

Maybe we should all attempt to spread our wings and see what more there is to life because if we stick to what we know, how can we possibly expect to grow?

4 thoughts on “The Comfort Zone

  1. dzzydmb says:

    I am a tad confused on your definition of comfort. Does it take blood, sweat, & tears for you to be comfortable? Waiting on someone else to come around, fighting for a lost cause is comfortable? I get it, I just want to shake you til it shakes off…”what if” you cut those strings & became available to better things? What if it’s that one string that is keeping you from finding true comfort? …

    Like

    • astoldbydestiny says:

      You’re so right. I’m working on it. It’s hard, but I’m getting there. I’m trying to escape my comfort zone because I know it’s more detrimental to me in the long run while great people and opportunities are passing me by.

      Like

Leave a comment